Reality Check, Skeptics, and Sports injuries

I do what I do because it is what I want to do by choice. I don’t do it to inspire or encourage someone else, but if I do great. I do it to test and prepare myself. I like to do extreme things like walk the edge of a jagged mountain or cliff. I like to fight. I like to train harder than the average person and in dangerous enviroments with potentially dangerous methods because that is the only way to be fully in the moment and aware. Some choose to hide behind their excuses. I understand that what I do involves a level of risk and I accept that risk and take responsibility for for it. I understand that there is risk in stopping the bloodflow to my brain by being choked. I understand that a joint can be broken by submission and that a fall from a large rock might kill me. I also understand that being shot in a foreign land or beaten to death for not being properly prepared is a risk I take. Weigh your own risks and rewards. The risks I take will hopefully reward me with the preservation of my life if I am in that situation, and living a better life if I am not. I choose to face my fears. I do this not by hoping I’ll be okay, but by making sure and readying my body and mind for the next task whatever it may be. More below on the point of this and a comment I recieved…

http://www.gymjones.com/knowledge.php?id=35 I decided to share this link because it not only talks about training related injuries that actors faced through doing an extremely rigerous and completely different fitness routine in a short period of time, but it also explains why they did what they did and works well with my point of why I do what I do. Yes it’s fun. Yes I could do other things. The fact of the matter is that I am held to elite physical standards through my work and am expected to do inhuman things when I’m placed in an intense scenario based on supreme confidence in training. My situation wasn’t giving me that and I am finding it on my own. Here is a quote from the article I am talking about…

“Butler commented that my idea of a workout is to “go until you are actually in fear of your life and then go further. Then, you do more.” He drew the connection between the physical and the psychological when he said, “It was preparation, too, for the mindset of King Leonidas. The Spartans were trained to be the best, and why be bashful about being the best? We, the Spartans, know who we are so completely that there’s no way an outsider can understand.” And, I suppose, this is more or less the way we described and prescribed the training for this project: the physical difficulties prepared the mind for the role…”

I hate to rant. I also hate drama. So when someone gets me mad I choose to not return fire and embarrass them for the most part. Rather than that I will use it to fuel a train of thought that would sway their point of view if they cared to listen to it with an open mind and without prejudice. The truth is that they will most likely never look at this post or do any real research on their own. At the same time I’ll listen to what they are saying and later try to forget it. The story is… I posted a few videos on here in a post entitled “Wednesday training and media”. You will see it a few days back. I then posted the videos on Facebook to show people on there what’s been going on with the club and asked friends to rate it even though I am usually pretty secretive about a lot of the stuff and share only what I feel like needs to be shared. Well secondhand I recieved a comment on my video that was something like this (I can’t quote him because I didn’t hear it directly and even if it was misinterpreted I will clear it up)…

‘I won’t comment his videos because he won’t like what I have to say. He is going to hurt himself or get someone else hurt with those jerky movements.’

First off… If you haven’t read this please do. https://aaifit.wordpress.com/disclaimer-rules-what-you-need-to-know/

Second…

Those “Jerky movements” are Olympic lifts and kettlebell work. Ever heard of a clean and jerk? I guess he hadn’t. Yes they are different and that is the point. Elite athletes use these tools to get physically fit. Elite doesn’t mean performing like everyone else. That also doesn’t mean someone can’t learn and practice the stuff on their own. Anyone who checks this site knows that the workouts and grappling done in the videos was not a recommendation to you, and was never posted as a workout or something you should do. It was left to the members only club and was clearly stated. I do this for a few reasons. One being that weak willed people may see what we do and think we are “overexerting ourselves” when we are training extreme endurance or hyperextending joints during movements or something similar. Another reason is that someone might get caught in the hype and destroy his body before understanding the work and conditioning himself for it. I haven’t been injured in a year of Kettlebell work, Olympic lifting, gymnastic training, endurance training and running, and haven’t seen any injuries from others doing the same. 1 year ago I was injured however on a mandatory 5 mile run which should have been easy because of lack of physical training and lack of rest. I have done all of my training on my own by teaching myself the techniques in my garage and have seen nothing but progress and quickly. I’ll admit that I did some stupid things early on. I rushed into the 300 workout not understanding fully what it was and not having done any of the movements before. See that here Those were the first deadlifts that I had ever done and my form was horrible. I had a sore back for a few days afterward. That was a year ago now. Looking at the big picture though isn’t there risk in everything? Imagine that a 15 year old is told to drive up the highway before he is taught to drive. Is that not a lot of risk? Now does that mean drive a car is too risky for anyone to do? Until you learn the proper way to pick up something or push it over your head and train it, there will be increased risk in doing it… THIS IS WHY WE DO IT REGULARLY! Risk decreases as training experience increases. So let’s say you are one of these guys that bench presses and eats all day because it’s safe and gets your muscles looking good (which is the concepts the commenter of my video follows) and suddenly you need to pick up some heavy boxes from the ground and stack them on shelves. Is it safer to do it not knowing how for the first time because it’s your job, or is it safer to train picking deadwieght up over and over in a controlled environment with a light load and over time increasing to a heavy one as your strength and power increase? We all know the answer. I can imagine that any little kid who walks across the road for the first time without holding a parents hand did so with an incredible amount of risk. That is why they do it in the first place and adults don’t need to. The more you do anything the better and safer you do it. Is this not common sense?… I won’t beat it with a dead horse (inside joke)

“If you always do what you’ve always done, than you will always get what you always got” -not sure who said it but I think that applies.

laws of functional strength. A guy that can do this… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFYo_ZrPDgU had to do a lot of training and take a LOT of risk to get there. Now that he is there though, it’s not so bad. Meanwhile you and I are left on the ground while he jumps across rooftops with ease and little risk compared to what we would have. I guess I did beat it with a dead horse. Oh well.

According to the chart below when I was trying to do some research the number 3 greatest injury risk in training is running/walking on a treadmill… Yes that’s right. Don’t ask me where they got their numbers but apparently that’s the case in some kind of study. Thinking about it I can image it true because a lot of people that run/walk on them do so for too long and do nothing else everyday with no rest in order to lose weight. All this does is put stress on your body, burn your mucles away, and put hard impact on your joints (the running). #6 is machines in a gym which which shocked me to beat out #7 freeweights. So not only are machines not safer, but they also don’t give you any core strength or stabilizer muscle strength and at the same time don’t strengthen joints since they take all of that work out of it. I know of five cases of Crossfiters getting Rhabdomyolosis and visits to the hospital and other than that injuries amount to sprains, sores, broken calluses, and similar. (here is the Crossfit Rhabdo article http://library.crossfit.com/free/pdf/38_05_cf_rhabdo.pdf ) All were new to the style but were previously in descent shape. The low weight, High Rep, High speed work that they jumped into with no easing into it caused the problems. I myself had an experience with Rhabdo and based on my knowledge took the time to post thorough knowledge on it and a full checklist for beginners in the “Beginners” column in order to avoid injury. If someone takes the workout I have posted without bothering to read all the warnings and knowledge I have put together for you guys first, that is not my problem. On the other hand I’ve heard of people being cured of years of sore backs from their jobs and things by building muscle in their core and many other positives that I won’t go into on this post to avoid tangents. Training the right way will do you know harm. Take a look at what this 48 year old is doing and has done with only few injuries in his years and years of rock climbing (including free climbing with no gear on renown difficult rocks and ice cliffs), biking and training in this style  http://www.gymjones.com/disciples.php?id=1 . Choose to be scared or choose to surpass it.

Here is the cold hard truth.

http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=34078

The first paragraph comes from…  http://www.sportsinjurybulletin.com/archive/0123a-sport-injuries.htm Not sure what studies they did or where they came from but they had something different to say. Yes I myself was even surprised by numbers 3, 6, and 7.

“…A variety of other sports are ranked below, with the number of injuries per 1000 hours of activity in parentheses (‘Injuries in Recreational Adult Fitness Activities,’ The American Journal of Sports Medicine, vol. 21 (3), pp. 461-467, 1993).

1. Alpine skiing (8)
2. Rowing machine exercise (6)
3. Treadmill walking or jogging (6)
4. Tennis (5)
5. Dancing classes (5)
6. Resistance training with weight machines (4)
7. Resistance training with free weights (4)

8. Outdoor cycling (3.5)
9. Stationary cycle exercise (2)
10. Stair climbing (2)
11. Walking (2)
Of course, injuries in sports such as rugby and lacrosse are often the result of impacts with other players – or with other players’ equipment, as in squash. Such injuries are often very difficult to avoid. Your body may be strong, flexible, and injury-resistant, but if another player’s racket catches you in the eye, you’re going to be hurt, no matter how well prepared you are.”

Facts below from http://www.americansportsdata.com

“Sports injury research is an intensely practical component of the sports participation knowledge base, and the mere existence of a sub-discipline called “sports injury epidemiology” (in this context, roughly the descriptive quantification of injuries deriving from sports participation) suggests a great abundance of vital and compelling data. But nothing could be further from reality: THERE HAS NEVER BEEN A MAJOR NATIONAL PUBLIC SURVEY OF SPORTS INJURIES IN THE U.S. — at least not since the 1970’s! Given the considerable number and variety of groups that stand to benefit from such a research initiative, this is indeed a curious state of affairs. Governing medical bodies, federal agencies, professional associations, educational institutions, municipalities and a host of other sports venues should be natural evangelists for such an effort…

…At the very least, we would expect that arbiters of sports medicine — the de facto medical policemen who oversee research, publish journals, issue safety guidelines and other proclamations to the sports and fitness industries, might — at some point or other — have commisioned a national study on the very subject of their expertise. But not a single professional organization has made this effort!”

http://www.americansportsdata.com/sports_injury1.asp

Leave a Reply

